Inspiration — Le Corbusier | The artist
16721
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16721,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_hidden, vertical_menu_width_260,qode-title-hidden,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-9.1.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.2.1,vc_responsive

LC, a source of inspiration

 

by Karin Rab­a­ra

My first encoun­ter with the crea­ti­ve work of Le Cor­bu­si­er was in 1995 during my trai­ning as an archi­tec­tu­ral draft­s­man. Our class visi­ted an exhi­bit in Pay­er­ne, whe­re we also had the oppor­tu­ni­ty to view some of Le Corbusier’s tapestries. As I wan­de­red through the show I was awa­re that some­thing was occur­ring insi­de of me: the tapestries were rive­ting, but I was hard­ly able to belie­ver that the archi­tect Le Cor­bu­si­er had pro­du­ced them. Archi­tect AND artist? It was a reve­la­ti­on and also path brea­king, as I was later to find out…

 

At the begin­ning of my archi­tec­tu­ral stu­dies in Lucer­ne I tra­v­eled through Fran­ce, Spain, and Por­tu­gal, during which time I visi­ted Le Corbusier’s prio­ry Sain­te-Marie de la Touret­te. When I got the­re, it loo­ked to me like a monu­ment out of raw con­cre­te, a hea­vy­weight that had lan­ded in a soft land­s­cape. I was con­scious of having the same fee­ling as in 1995: here Le Corbusier’s strength beco­mes tan­gi­ble.

 

But it was anything but a colos­sus. Ever­ything was at play. The light, the forms, the har­mo­nic dimen­si­ons. A sen­si­ti­ve soul was behind it. And I was part of it when, for two nights, I stay­ed the­re. In a monk’s cell, as wide as I could reach with my two arms stret­ched out. The Modu­lar was pal­p­a­bly embo­di­ed in me: the human dimen­si­ons! Was this archi­tec­tu­re? Was the artist LC at work here as well? I wasn’t sure whe­ther the­re was more art or more archi­tec­tu­re going on here. Or whe­ther, well, sim­ply both. From that time on, I saw Le Cor­bu­si­er as being indi­vi­si­ble in all that he did.

 

It was not long befo­re I found mys­elf giving up my stu­dy of archi­tec­tu­re and star­ting out on an inqui­ry into Le Corbusier’s work. A job offer by Hei­di Webers of Cent­re Le Cor­bu­si­er in Zurich made it pos­si­ble. For two year, I worked dai­ly in this unusu­al, last buil­ding of Le Corbusier’s. Here, this syn­the­sis, a Gesamt­kunst­werk, united archi­tec­tu­re, art, script, and fur­nis­hings. Every day, I was cap­ti­va­ted, ent­hral­led, or even fee­ling com­ple­te­ly hel­pless in the face of this uni­ver­sal geni­us. The archi­tect in the ser­vice of poe­try. The artist just as much so. It beca­me clear to me: this wasn’t going to let me go.

 

After the inten­si­ve time in the muse­um, I gave mys­elf a break. The wealth of inspi­ra­ti­on deman­ded a peace­ful work­place, which I found in archi­tec­tu­re offices. During this time I met my future hus­band, who from my sto­ries about Le Cor­bu­si­er could hard­ly grasp what it was that affec­ted me so much. This sud­den­ly chan­ged when, on the occa­si­on of the birth of our daugh­ter, he star­ted loo­king for a signed gra­phic of Le Corbusier’s for me. He rese­ar­ched, read about, and lear­ned about the artist Le Cor­bu­si­er – it went on for mon­ths, and it chan­ged him noti­ce­ab­ly. The renown of the artist LC was a mere frac­tion of his renown as an archi­tect!

 

In 2006, Le Cor­bu­si­er has caught up to me again in the form of a gifted gra­phic. My hus­band, now infec­ted, nou­ris­hed my pas­si­on. And he reco­gni­zed that LC’s artis­tic work bears a poten­ti­al that has not yet been exploi­ted ade­qua­te­ly on the art mar­ket. We did not hesi­ta­te for long: it beca­me his utmost con­cern to collect, rese­arch, and cate­go­ri­ze the artis­tic work of Le Cor­bu­si­er, to take care of it and to dis­play it, to make it avail­ab­le to tho­se inte­rested. Even today, this con­ti­nues to be a pas­si­on.

Le Corbusier | Der Künstler | Inspiration
16299
page,page-id-16299,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_hidden, vertical_menu_width_260,qode-title-hidden,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-9.1.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.2.1,vc_responsive

Inspirationsquelle

Le Corbusier

von Karin Rabara, Gale­rie Mera

Meine erste Begeg­nung mit dem Schaf­fen Le Cor­bu­si­ers fand 1995 statt wäh­rend mei­ner Aus­bil­dung zur Hoch­bau­zeich­ne­rin. Unsere Klasse besuchte eine Aus­stel­lung in Pay­erne, in der auch Le Cor­bu­si­ers Tapis­se­rien zu sehen waren. Bei der Bege­hung der Aus­stel­lung fühlte ich, dass etwas in mir pas­sierte: Die Wand­tep­pi­che waren ergrei­fend, und ich konnte kaum glau­ben, dass der Archi­tekt Le Cor­bu­sier sie geschaf­fen hatte. Archi­tekt UND Künst­ler? Eine Offen­ba­rung und weg­wei­send, wie sich her­aus­stel­len sollte.

 

Vor Beginn mei­nes Archi­tek­tur­stu­di­ums in Luzern besuchte ich Le Cor­bu­si­ers Klos­ter Sainte-Marie de la Tou­rette. Bei der Anreise schien es mir wie ein Monu­ment aus rohem Beton, ein Schwer­ge­wicht, gelan­det in der sanf­ten Land­schaft. Mir wurde bewusst, dass sich das glei­che Gefühl wie 1995 ein­stellte: Hier war Le Cor­bu­si­ers Kraft spür­bar.

 

Aber es war alles andere als ein Koloss. Da spielte alles. Das Licht, die For­men, die har­mo­ni­schen Dimen­sio­nen. Ein Fein­geist steckte dahin­ter. Und ich war ein Teil davon, als ich zwei Nächte darin ver­brachte. In einer Mönchs­zelle, so breit wie meine aus­ge­streck­ten Arme tas­te­ten. Der Modu­lor wurde mir spür­bar ein­ver­leibt: die mensch­li­chen Dimen­sio­nen! War das nun Archi­tek­tur? War hier auch der Künst­ler LC am Werk? Mir war nicht klar, ob hier mehr Kunst oder mehr Archi­tek­tur drin steck­ten. Le Cor­bu­sier schien mir ab da untrenn­bar in den Berei­chen sei­nes Han­delns.

 

Es dau­erte nicht lange, dass ich mich vom Archi­tek­tur­stu­dium lösen und auf die Suche nach dem Werk Le Cor­bu­si­ers machen wollte. Ein Job­an­ge­bot Heidi Webers vom Centre Le Cor­bu­sier in Zürich machte es mög­lich. Zwei Jahre arbei­tete ich tag­täg­lich in die­sem aus­ser­ge­wöhn­li­chen, letz­ten Bau­werk Le Cor­bu­si­ers. Hier lebte diese Syn­these, ein Gesamt­kunst­werk, das Archi­tek­tur, Kunst, Schrif­ten und Möbel ver­einte. Jeden Tag wurde ich neu ergrif­fen, bewegt oder auch völ­lig hilf­los ange­sichts die­ses Uni­ver­sal­ge­nies. Der Archi­tekt im Dienste der Poe­sie. Der Künst­ler genauso. Es würde mich nicht mehr los­las­sen.

 

Nach die­ser inten­si­ven Zeit im Museum ver­schaffte ich mir eine Pause. Diese Fülle an Inspi­ra­tion for­derte ruhi­gere Arbeits­fel­der, wel­che ich in wei­te­ren Archi­tek­tur­bü­ros fand. Ich begeg­nete mei­nem spä­te­ren Mann, der aus mei­nen Erzäh­lun­gen über Le Cor­bu­sier kaum ermes­sen konnte, was mich da so berührte. Das änderte sich abrupt, als er mir anläss­lich der Geburt unse­rer Toch­ter eine signierte Gra­phik Le Cor­bu­si­ers suchte. Er recher­chierte, las und lernte über den Künst­ler Le Cor­bu­sier – es waren Monate, die ihn spür­bar ver­än­der­ten.

 

Durch die geschenkte Gra­phik hatte mich Le Cor­bu­sier im Jahr 2006 erneut ein­ge­holt. Mein Mann, inzwi­schen sel­ber infi­ziert, nährte meine Lei­den­schaft. Und er hatte erkannt, dass LCs künst­le­ri­sches Werk ein Poten­zial barg, das der Kunst­markt nicht aus­schöpfte. Wir zöger­ten nicht lange: Es wurde uns ein Anlie­gen, das künst­le­ri­sche Werk Le Cor­bu­si­ers zu sam­meln, es zu erfor­schen und ein­zu­ord­nen, es zu pfle­gen und aus­zu­stel­len, es ande­ren Inter­es­sier­ten ver­füg­bar zu machen. So ist es nach wie vor.

 

lc-als-inspirationsquelle-kleines-bild